Bob Dylan/Tom Petty, The Greek Theatre, Berkeley, CA [06.14.86]

Bob Dylan + Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers [Alone & Together], The Greek Theatre, Berkeley, CA [06.14.86]

1) So Long, Good Luck And Goodbye
2) Positively 4th Street
3) Clean-Cut Kid
4) Emotionally Yours
5) Trust Yourself
6) That Lucky Ole Sun
7) Masters Of War

8) Straight Into Darkness
9) Fooled Again (I Don’t Like It)
10) The Waiting
11) Breakdown

12) Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
13) A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
14) Girl From The North Country

15) I Forgot More Than You’ll Ever Know
16) Just Like A Woman
17) Band Of The Hand
18) Lonesome Town
19) Ballad Of A Thin Man

20) So You Wanna Be A Rock ‘N’ Roll Star
21) Spike
22) Bye Bye Johnny
23) Refugee

24) Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
25) Seeing The Real You At Last
26) Across The Borderline
27) I And I
28) Like A Rolling Stone
29) In The Garden

30) Blowin’ In The Wind
31) Rock With Me Baby
32) Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

This was the second time I saw Bob Dylan perform, again with Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers, five days after the San Diego debut.  The ticket that Paul Williams traded me ended up being in the third row, right in front of Dylan.  This was thrilling, but I had promised to tape the show for Jerry Weddle and had borrowed his tape recorder and I was paranoid during the entire performance that I would be discovered taping and get kicked out.  Eventually I relaxed and no harm was done and 23 years later I’m glad that a document of this show exists.  These were amazing shows to me and I would see Dylan & Petty perform together two more times in Costa Mesa the following week…that’s four times in less than ten days.  I guess we were all pretty nutty for Dylan at the time…still am.  But I think that this was the best backing band Bob ever had.  And it took the Heartbreakers to a whole other level after 1987.  Wow, what a blast it was.  On a personal note, this is the last time I would ever see Kathleen Keilch.

Bob Dylan [vocals, guitar, harmonica], Tom Petty [vocals, guitar, bass], Mike Campbell [guitar], Howie Epstein [bass, slide guitar, vocals], Stan Lynch [drums, vocals], Carolyn Dennis [background vocals], Queen Ester Marrow [background vocals], Madelyn Quebec [background vocals], Louise Bethune [background vocals].