Bob Dylan/Tom Petty, San Diego Sports Arena [06.09.86]

Bob Dylan + Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers [Alone & Together], San Diego Sports Arena, San Diego, CA [06.09.86]

1) So Long, Good Luck And Goodbye
2) Positively 4th Street
3) Clean-Cut Kid
4) I’ll Remember You
5) Shot Of Love
6) That Lucky Ole Sun
7) Masters Of War

8) Straight Into Darkness
9) I Can’t Get Her Out Of My Mind
10) The Waiting
11) Breakdown

12) To Ramona
13) One Too Many Mornings
14) It Ain’t Me, Babe

15) I Forgot More Than You’ll Ever Know
16) Just Like A Woman
17) Unchain My Heart
18) When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky
19) Lonesome Town
20) Ballad Of A Thin Man

21) So You Wanna Be A Rock ‘N’ Roll Star
22) I Need To Know
23) Bye Bye Johnny
24) Refugee

25) Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
26) Seeing The Real You At Last
27) Across The Borderline
28) I And I
29) Like A Rolling Stone
30) In The Garden

31) Blowin’ In The Wind
32) Got My Mind Made Up
33) Uranium Rock
34) Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

This was the very first time I ever saw Bob Dylan perform, on the very first date of his 1986-87 North American tour with Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers.  Dylan had already performed in Japan & Australia with TP & The HBs but this was the first gig in the U.S.  I met Paul Williams for the first time on this day.  He and I traded Dylan tickets.  He came down to San Diego from the Bay Area to see the debut concert and I had an extra ticket and swapped him for an extra ticket that he had for The Greek Theatre in Berkeley five days later.  As I remember we were in the 18th row.

This concert was significant for me for many reasons, but it was historical for the sheer volume of songs that Dylan and Petty performed…I believe that this might have been the longest set of the U.S. tour and that it was the only time that Got My Mind Made Up was ever performed live.  Petty had the song and Dylan re-wrote some of the words and a recording wound up on Knocked Out Loaded.  The only performance I really care for on that album.

Bob Dylan [vocals, guitar, harmonica], Tom Petty [vocals, guitar, bass], Mike Campbell [guitar], Howie Epstein [bass, slide guitar, vocals], Stan Lynch [drums, vocals], Carolyn Dennis [background vocals], Queen Ester Marrow [background vocals], Madelyn Quebec [background vocals], Louise Bethune [background vocals].